The First Class

On Thursday night I went to see the students I taught pre-IB chemistry to as a student teacher receive their IB diplomas. It was… some kind of wonderful. Just reconnecting and hearing where they were at in the world and what their passions were… they were so grown up! All in college… and making a difference in the world…

The best part I think was reconnecting with an old student. I had only taught him for one unit, but we had a really good conversation about him and how he was doing. It turns out… he was lonely. And my heart just went out to him. Even though I didn’t teach him for very long, he was still one of my students, and I want him to succeed so much and it makes me so sad to hear that he doesn’t have everything that he wants.

And the weird thing was that some of them were so surprised that I remembered them, but you never forget the first ones. They taught me more than I ever could dream of teaching them, and for that, I’m forever thankful.

Leave a Reply

