Friday Presentations

One of my colleagues started doing this and loved it, and I decided to try it, and it’s honestly the best thing I’ve implemented in my teaching. The idea is simple: each Friday throughout the year, I have one student in each class make a 5-minutes presentation on any topic in science that they think is fascinating using this Friday Presentation Rubric.

And kids LOVE IT. They look forward to this every week, and to be honest, I do to. It’s neat to see what the kids are really interested in especially because at the end, I have them say what field of science this is, and why it interests them.

Yesterday alone, my 4 classes learned about:

  1. The 9th super planet
  2. The Environmental Effects of Compulsive Tail-Chasing in Dogs (AKA Canine OCD)
  3. The Biology of Schizophrenia
  4. How The Drive for Success in Schools is Making Students Sick (she had the whole class take this quiz, which was fascinating–she didn’t ask them to reveal their results, but it caused a lot of self reflection)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

